Trademarks and Copyrights

Trademarks and copyrights often seem to be slippery things, especially here on the internet. Sometimes it’s tempting to just borrow others’ creativity…

Trademarks and copyrights often seem to be slippery things.. especially here on the internet. Even though my shop is small, respecting others’ ownership is something I’ve determined to adhere to when creating my designs.

Most of the time keeping to that ideology isn’t too challenging. However, recently I was commissioned to do a design for some died-in-the-wool White Sox fans.  This was a tough assignment; coming up with an original design was harder than I thought! All of the clear and obvious visuals were sure to be trademarked or copyrighted by the franchise. What’s their mascot? A crazy looking green creature called SouthPaw.. or maybe white socks. How to generalize that?

Their home field ( formerly known as New Comiskey Park, now just US Cellular Field) has a pretty iconic score board, with pinwheels and all, over which they let off fireworks when a home run is scored… But surely that is trademarked as well.

I even thought about doing a likeness of Ozzi Guillen, but doing faces of celebrities opens up a whole lot of issues. First, I’d have to get their permission to use their likeness and then, somehow, I would have to get my very own picture of them (else pay royalties to the original photographer). For one little onesie in my little shop, that seemed unnecessarily complicated.

So, I pondered and contemplated some more.

Eventually, I came up with this design:

Just some happy Chicago baseball.. cute and original. Everybody wins!

Then, on the back, just for added cuteness, I painted a multi-colored pinwheel:

It was a hit!

Author: momo211

I've been active in the arts pretty much my entire life. Growing up, my home was filled with creativity; my dad's an accomplished painter and my mom has always harbored a great love for music and art and they passed it on down to their kids. When I was a little, my parents saw my avid interest (and inclination to draw on any available space - including school tests and myself) and they gave me a sketch book for my birthday and things have just blossomed from there. Officially, my main focus of study has been music, but my true love has always been art. I've been commissioned as an illustrator for kids books, a portrait painter, creator of center pieces for private parties and, most recently, a designer of kids clothes. My aim is for the designs to express a whimsical and playful feel to reflect the essence of childhood. However, I also strive to branch out from the generic "pink princess" and "sports fan" designs that are so prevalent out there. Every kid has their own personality, why not express it?

2 thoughts on “Trademarks and Copyrights”

Leave a Reply

