Realizations and Resolutions

I got into this whole Etsy thing on a whim. Well, more it was to create an outlet for my creative energies (and find a new home for all the creations my energies had created!) And, initially, I was all focused and updating and listing items like gangbusters.

All the excitement began in June, when I opened my Etsy shop. Things were going pretty well, but as the fall approached, things got kind of crazy around here and the amount of time spent focusing on my shop tapered off markedly.. this has resulted in notably less traffic through my shop.

Now, it’s a new year and I wasn’t kidding about my resolutions. I’ve been spending a good deal of time thinking about my shop. Thinking about my reasons for having it and coming to terms with the idea that I have a small business. (How crazy is that??) And acknowledging that this project is going to be more of a marathon than a sprint, and adjusting my expectations and strategies accordingly.

So, for starters, I’m going to be blogging more regularly here.

Also, I’m going to update my shop more frequently and keep the more popular designs stocked better.

Lastly, Etsy has such an expansive help menu available, I’m going to take advantage of that. Read the community blogs more and pay attention to the pointers listed there.

And ‘cuz I’m just so helpful, I’ve posted a few links here to some of the articles that I’ve found helpful and enlightening. Enjoy!

The Little Book of Procrastination Remedies

Interesting article on creative approach – Average vs. Special

And this one on marketing yourself

There are a TON of other materials out there and I feel like I’m learning more, and improving, every day.

Are there any helpful articles that you’ve found lately?

Author: momo211

I've been active in the arts pretty much my entire life. Growing up, my home was filled with creativity; my dad's an accomplished painter and my mom has always harbored a great love for music and art and they passed it on down to their kids. When I was a little, my parents saw my avid interest (and inclination to draw on any available space - including school tests and myself) and they gave me a sketch book for my birthday and things have just blossomed from there. Officially, my main focus of study has been music, but my true love has always been art. I've been commissioned as an illustrator for kids books, a portrait painter, creator of center pieces for private parties and, most recently, a designer of kids clothes. My aim is for the designs to express a whimsical and playful feel to reflect the essence of childhood. However, I also strive to branch out from the generic "pink princess" and "sports fan" designs that are so prevalent out there. Every kid has their own personality, why not express it?

Leave a Reply

