New Project!

When I first opened my shop, I lived in an apartment that had a beautifully weathered fence out back. My neighbors probably thought I was crazy, but I loved to use it as a backdrop for photographing my shirts. But, then I moved away and I have missed that fence. Finally, I decided that I should create my own little bit of fence to use as a backdrop for my shirts!

A few months ago, I collected all the pieces:Then, I talked my brother into helping me cut and assemble it. 

And, voila! I had a bit of fence! 

In the months since, I have been deliberating and researching ways to make this new wood look more like that old fence. I considered staining, varnish or maybe even painting it, but then I came across this tutorial on making new wood look old and it was decided.

So, this weekend the process was begun. I collected some Earl Gray tea (and all the other necessary ingredients for aging wood) and the steel wool is steeping in vinegar, as we speak!

 I’m so excited to have a bit of “aged” fence to use in my photographs again!

Author: momo211

I've been active in the arts pretty much my entire life. Growing up, my home was filled with creativity; my dad's an accomplished painter and my mom has always harbored a great love for music and art and they passed it on down to their kids. When I was a little, my parents saw my avid interest (and inclination to draw on any available space - including school tests and myself) and they gave me a sketch book for my birthday and things have just blossomed from there. Officially, my main focus of study has been music, but my true love has always been art. I've been commissioned as an illustrator for kids books, a portrait painter, creator of center pieces for private parties and, most recently, a designer of kids clothes. My aim is for the designs to express a whimsical and playful feel to reflect the essence of childhood. However, I also strive to branch out from the generic "pink princess" and "sports fan" designs that are so prevalent out there. Every kid has their own personality, why not express it?

2 thoughts on “New Project!”

Leave a Reply

