Square One

I wanted to be the “Cool Aunt” and give the new nephew something great, something unique, that would be memorable amid all the other gifts he’d be getting. However, at the same time, I wanted to give something to the older nephew as well, so he wouldn’t feel completely left out from the fun.

The purpose of this blog is, to show off display all the designs that I’ve created- past, present and future. But what fun is a gallery if there’s no explanation of the art?  So, in addition to exhibiting my finished products, this blog is here to give you a little peek at the history or inspiration behind some of the designs.

With that in mind, it only seems right to start off this gallery-blog with the designs that were the original inspiration for everything. But first, a little back story:

This all began when my older sister was pregnant with her second baby, her oldest being nearly four years old.

Monkey, Raven and MamaIt has been my observation that new babies are sometimes a little bit trying for the older sibling. New babies get all the attention and they’re always getting presents, I can see where a previously only-child (and solo apple of everybody’s eye) could start to feel a little neglected.

So my mind began churning. I wanted to be the “Cool Aunt” and give the new nephew something great, something unique, that would be memorable amid all the other gifts he’d be getting. However, at the same time, I wanted to give something to the older nephew as well, so he wouldn’t feel completely left out of the fun. The conclusion: I would make them each a custom-designed shirt, unique to them.

From the beginning, my sister and her husband used a nickname for her son when she talked about him online: Monkey. That nickname has bled over into real life and he is known by both names. With this new one on the way, they came up with a nickname for him as well: Raven.

These nicknames seemed the perfect image for a putting on a personalized shirt, so I ran with it. And I was quite pleased with the results! Here they are:

T-shirt for Monkey
the t-shirt for Monkey
Onesie for Raven
the onesie for Raven

Author: momo211

I've been active in the arts pretty much my entire life. Growing up, my home was filled with creativity; my dad's an accomplished painter and my mom has always harbored a great love for music and art and they passed it on down to their kids. When I was a little, my parents saw my avid interest (and inclination to draw on any available space - including school tests and myself) and they gave me a sketch book for my birthday and things have just blossomed from there. Officially, my main focus of study has been music, but my true love has always been art. I've been commissioned as an illustrator for kids books, a portrait painter, creator of center pieces for private parties and, most recently, a designer of kids clothes. My aim is for the designs to express a whimsical and playful feel to reflect the essence of childhood. However, I also strive to branch out from the generic "pink princess" and "sports fan" designs that are so prevalent out there. Every kid has their own personality, why not express it?

One thought on “Square One”

Leave a comment