Reusable Market Bags

Some years ago, Chicago implemented a plastic bag ban, where larger stores just don’t offer bags or else they’ll charge a small fee for them.  I live in a town that’s right next door to Chicago and starting new this year, they’ve joined in the bag ban. So, in preparation – a few months ago, I made some cute reuseable bags for my own shopping, to try to get in the habit. They are working so well that I decided to offer some in my Etsy shop as well.

Pink Stripey Bag
Pink Stripey Bag

True to the mission of my DazzlingDoOvers shop, I wanted to make these reusable bags from some re-purposed materials. So, I gathered up some pillowcases and gave them new life as shopping bags!

Stripey Bag

Made in a smoke free, pet fee environment. I reinforced all seams to ensure it’ll have a life of many shopping trips.

This one seemed a little plain with just the navy blue, so I added my favorite party animal trio as an embellishment. Now it’s super fun!

Party Animals

I was excited to find a set of these fabulous Little Pony pillowcases on one of my many excursions through the little shops here in the Chicago area. I knew they were destined for greater things than gathering dust in a shop. So  I set to work and now there are two available!

My Little Pony

See all these and more in my DazzlingDoOvers shop here!

Author: momo211

I've been active in the arts pretty much my entire life. Growing up, my home was filled with creativity; my dad's an accomplished painter and my mom has always harbored a great love for music and art and they passed it on down to their kids. When I was a little, my parents saw my avid interest (and inclination to draw on any available space - including school tests and myself) and they gave me a sketch book for my birthday and things have just blossomed from there. Officially, my main focus of study has been music, but my true love has always been art. I've been commissioned as an illustrator for kids books, a portrait painter, creator of center pieces for private parties and, most recently, a designer of kids clothes. My aim is for the designs to express a whimsical and playful feel to reflect the essence of childhood. However, I also strive to branch out from the generic "pink princess" and "sports fan" designs that are so prevalent out there. Every kid has their own personality, why not express it?

2 thoughts on “Reusable Market Bags”

Leave a comment